Mercedes EQ won the 2021 Formula E World Championship

Mercedes EQ and Nyck de Vries emerged as World Champions in the exciting seventh season of the ABB FIA Formula E, which ended in the last race held in Berlin.

With 13 drivers claiming on Sunday, on the last 15th lap of this year’s BMW i Berlin E-Prix, the title of World Champion, and with four of them having a bigger lead for it, the scene was ready for a shocking finale, as befits the thrills offered by Formula E.

Read also: Formula E : New MINI electric in Safety Car role

At the start, Mitch Evans of Jaguar Racing, one of the championship contenders, was unable to start and, while several pilots managed to avoid him, another potential contender for the title, ROKiT Venturi Racing’s Edo Mortara, fell behind him, fortunately neither pilot was injured.

Mercedes-EQ won the 2021 Formula E World Championship

In fact, after a while, jake Dennis of BMW i Andretti Motorsport, also a title contender, hit the wall with his electric car, causing him to abandon.

The winner of the 15th lap of this year’s BMW i Berlin E-Prix was ROKiT Venturi Racing’s Norman Nato, Oliver Rowland of Nissan E.dams was second on the podium and Mercedes-EQ’s Stoffel Vandoorne third.

Nyck de Vries finished eighth, but the 4 points he got were enough to give him the title of this year’s Formula E World Champion, finishing the season with 99 points, compared to 92 in the second Edo Mortara.

“I have no words,” were de Vries’ first words. “I apologize for my emotion. It’s been a tough season with our up and down. Everything was judged in the last race. We are grateful that we are all well after the start, but we did a great race.”

Read more: New Tesla Roadster vs Formula 1 car CGI Video

This year Nyck de Vries also took the title of World Drivers’ Championship, as we mentioned and the joy in the Mercedes-EQ camp is twofold. Despite the double joy that prevails, sorrows may follow.

The Mercedes team has decided to withdraw from the ABB Formula E World Championship after the following season. The decision is expected to be officially announced later this week.

We remind you that from the ninth season in the championship will run the electric single-seaters third generation (Gen3).

Video from YouTube channel ABB Formula E

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *